Performance Diary

Monday 31st December 2018

British Philharmonic Concert Orchestra

New Year's Eve Gala Concert

Buxton Opera House

 

Saturday 12th January 2019

Sophistication Strings

80th Birthday Party

Le Brasserie, Kidderminster

 

Sunday 20th January 2019, 3pm

British Philharmonic Concert Orchestra

A Viennese Strauss Gala

Wolverhampton Grand Theatre

 

Saturday 26th January 2019

MYO Alumni Orchestra

Commemoration Concert

for Stephen Williams

Williams : In Search of Altruism

Bruch : Violin Concerto

Tchaikovsky : Symphony no 5

Concert Hall, Birmingham Conservatoire

 

Sunday 27th January 2019

English Pro Musica

A Night at the West End

Birmingham Town Hall

 

Saturday 2nd February 2019

RSA 'Saving Music in Schools' Symposium

Foleyan Centre, Old Swinford Hospital

 

Thursday 14th February 2019

English Symphony Orchestra

Wagner : Die Walkure - Act 1

Countess of Huntingdon Hall, Worcester

 

Saturday 16th February 2019,

English Symphony Orchestra

Wagner : Die Walkure - Act 1

Swan Theatre, Worcester

 

Sunday 10th March 2019

Himley Duo Recital

Music by Beethoven, Downes and Schubert

St Mary and St Margaret Church

Castle Bromwich

 

Saturday 23rd March 2019

Windsor and Eton Choral Society

Brandenburg Sinfonia

Elgar : The Dream of Gerontius

Eton College, Berkshire

 

Saturday 30th March 2019

Vivace Chorus and Brandenburg Sinfonia

Britten : Sea Interludes

Howells : Sir Patrick Spens

Vaughan Williams : Sea Symphony

Dorking Halls, Dorking, Surrey

 

Saturday 6th April 2019

Bewdley Baroque Soloists

A programme of music for strings

St Anne's Church, Bewdley

 

Sunday 7th April 2019

British Philharmonic Concert Orchestra

Rodgers and Hammerstein Gala

Grand Theatre, Wolverhampton

 

Sunday 7th-Sat 13th April 2019

Top Hat (Pit Orchestra)

TAB Theatre Company

Brierley Hill Civic Hall

 

Saturday 13th April 2019

Mozart : Cosi Fan Tutte

Vivaldi : Gloria

Beethoven : Mass in C

Derby Choral Union and

Central England Camerata

Conductor : Richard Dacey

Derby Cathedral, Derby

 

Tuesday 23rd April 2019

Recital : Himley Trio

Lunchtime Concerts Series

Music by Downes, Bridgewater and Schubert

Great St Mary's, Cambridge

 

Saturday 27th April 2019

Sophistication String Duo

Wedding ceremony and reception

St John's Church, Whittington

The White Lion Hotel

Whittington, Oswestry

 

Wed 1st / Thurs 2nd May 2019

OSH Ensembles

Director of Music - Anna Downes

May Concerts

Old Swinford Hospital, Stourbridge

 

Saturday 4th May 2019

Sophistication String Duo

Turner Exhibition

Worcester Museum and Art Gallery

 

Saturday 4th May 2019

Himley Trio Recital

Local and Live Concert Series

Music by Bridgewater, Downes and Beethoven

St James' Church, Wollaston

 

Saturday 11th May 2019

The Sound of Music

The Garrick Theatre, Lichfield

 

Friday 17th May 2019

Interview with Joe Seager on

The Music of Andrew Downes

Birmingham and Midland Institute

 

Saturday 18th May 2019

Hagley Music Festival

Come and Sing Faure Requiem

Downes - Celtic Rhapsody

Central England Camerata

St John's Church, Hagley

 

Sunday 19th May 2019

Central England Camerata

Recording session

Downes : Celtic Rhapsody

 

Friday 24th May 2019

Emerald Strings

Retirement Party

Botanical Gardens, Birmingham

 

Saturday 25th May 2019

Himley Duo Recital

Programme to include music

by Beethoven, Downes and Schubert

St Mary's, Oldswinford

 

Sunday 26th May 2019

Sophistication Strings

Wedding ceremony and reception

Tern Hill Hall

Market Drayton, Shropshire

 

Monday 27th May 2019

Welsh Chamber Orchestra

Principal 2nd Violin

Beaumaris Festival, Beaumaris

 

Tuesday 28th May 2019

Himley Duo Recital

Lunchtime Concert Series

Music by Beethoven, Downes and Schubert

St Andrew's Church, Rugby

 

Wednesday 29th May 2019

Himley Duo Recital

Lunchtime Concert Series

Music by Beethoven, Downes and Schubert

St Alphege's Church, Solihull

 

Friday 7th June 2019

Hereford Chamber Choir

Central England Camerata

Monteverdi : Beatus Vir

Gabrielli : Jubilate Deo

Handel : Dixit Dominus

Hereford Cathedral

 

Sunday 9th June 2019

Guys and Dolls

Sutton Coldfield Arts Centre

 

Sunday 9th June 2019

Music for Sanctuary

Himley Trio Recital

Downes : Sonata for Violin and Piano

Bridgewater : Snowflakes

Schubert : Shepherd on the Rock

 

Wednesday 12th June 2019

Guys and Dolls

Sutton Coldfield Arts Centre

 

Thursday 13th June 2019

Welsh Chamber Orchestra

Principal 2nd Violin

Llanelli, South Wales

 

Saturday 15th June 2019

Guys and Dolls

Sutton Coldfield Arts Centre

 

Saturday 22nd June 2019

Music for Sanctuary

OSH Chamber Choir

Hagley Free Church

 

Saturday 22nd June 2019

Emerald Strings

Wedding ceremony and reception

The Mill Barns, Alverley

 

Tuesday 25th June 2019

Welsh Chamber Orchestra

Principal 2nd Violin

Milford Haven, South Wales

 

Saturday 29th June 2019

Magenta Strings

Wedding ceremony and reception

Dovecliffe Hotel, Burton upon Trent

 

Sunday 30th June 2019

A Night At The Movies

With James Nesbitt

English Pro Musica

Hanley Hall, Stoke on Trent

 

Sat 6th-Friday 12th July 2019

OSH Concert Tour to Paris

 

Sunday 7th July 2019

OSH Ensembles in Concert

Jardin de Luxembourg, Paris

 

Monday 8th July 2019, 11am

Recital - OSH Choirs

Notre Dame Cathedral, Paris

 

Tuesday 9th July 2019, 11am

OSH Ensembles in Concert

Place Jean XXIII, Paris

 

Wednesday 10th July 2019,

OSH Choirs in Concert

Eurodisney, Paris

 

Saturday 20th July 2019

The Limelight Orchestra

'Interstellar' celebrating

50th Anniversary of the Apollo moon Landings

St PHilips Cathedral, Birmingham

 

Friday 26th July 2019

Sophistication String Trio

Wedding ceremony and reception

Derbyshire

 

Saturday 27th July 2019

Sophistication String Quartet

Wedding ceremony and reception

Pattingham, Wolverhampton

 

Saturday 20th July 2019

The Limelight Orchestra

'Interstellar' celebrating

50th Anniversary of the Apollo moon Landings

St PHilips Cathedral, Birmingham

 

Thursday 8th August 2019

Music for Sanctuary Concert

Anna Downes - Violin

Catherine Kramer - Soprano

Nicolas Wright - Piano

The Globe Theatre, Hay-on-Wye

 

Sunday 25th August 2019

The Himley Duo Recital

Schubert : Sonata in A major

Downes : Sonata for Violin and Piano

Beethoven : Sonata in C minor

Great Witley Church, Worcestershire

 

Wednesday 28th August 2019

The Himley Trio

Emmanuel URC, Cambridge

 

Saturday 7th September 2019

Emerald Strings

Wedding ceremony and reception

Dunsley Hall, Kinver

 

Saturday 21st September 2019

Strings Adjudicator

Solihull Music Festival

 

Tuesday 8th-Saturday 12th October 2019

Pit Orchestra

Jekyll and Hyde

Civic Hall, Brierley Hill

 

Saturday 9th November 2019

Bewdley Choral Society and Orchestra

Karl Jenkins : The Armed Man

St Anne's Church, Bewdley

 

Saturday 16th November 2019

Heart of England Choir and Orchestra

Haydn : Little Organ Mass

Monteverdi : Beatus Vir

 

Saturday 8th February 2020

'Andrew Downes at 70'

Central England Ensemble

Conductor : Anthony Bradbury

Leader : Anna Downes

Soloist : Paula Downes

Downes - Celtic Rhapsody

Rachmaninov - Symphony no 2

Elgar Concert Hall, University of Birmingham

 

Friday 10th April 2020

Bewdley Choral Society

Bewdley Baroque Soloists

Bach : St Matthew Passion

St Anne's Church, Bewdley

 

Friday 17th April 2020

Himley Trio Recital

Great St Mary's Church, Cambridge

 

Friday 12th June 2020

Hereford Chamber Choir and

Central England Camerata

Hereford Cathedral

 

Sunday 4th October 2020

Central England Camerata

Conductor : Anthony Bradbury

Leader : Anna Downes

Downes : Symphony no 6 (premiere)

Hagley Hall, Hagley, Worcestershire